Award-winning filmmaker would like to speak with saturation divers

I'm an award-winning filmmaker who would like to speak with experienced commercial divers about their work and life experiences. Please get in touch if you'd like to be part of this interesting project.

Views: 389

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

What films have you done

Here are two recent ones. One was a short doc**entary about high-rise window cleaners in Chicago which won awards at a bunch of festivals and was short-listed for an Academy Award:

http://www.nytimes.com/video/opinion/100000002426198/paraso.html

This one is about a man who lost his legs in a tractor accident [spoiler alert] and how he got his life back together with the help of his family.

https://vimeo.com/110535634

I'm a certified saturation diver that is unlikely to see any value in conversing with you. Why do you want to speak to divers? Do you want to hear about the boredom, the stresses of family life, the fear and giggles of work, or do you want to hear about how I stare a watery death in the face every time I put my oxygen bottle on my back and strap my flippers on, or how much gold/crab I can get?

I haven't come across much about gold or crabs from what I've read so far about the job. I'm more interested in life in dry bells and hearing from people who've done welding or cutting work. It's research at this point, not interviews. There's a few docs out there about the job but in my experience always better to get it directly from someone who's lived it.

Well, I've done plenty of cutting and welding earlier in my career, when I worked inshore, but in the last 10 years of Sat diving, I've only been on one burning job, and no welding jobs.
Try googling or searching YouTube for 'real men under pressure' it's quite a bullsht free doc**entary based on the Seawell.

Most diving doc**entaries start off factual, and end up as a Subaqua 'whale wars' which never impresses the actual divers