HELP........Thinking of going to Commercial diving school....PLE .HELP.........

im thinking of going to CDA school of jacksonville in FL.Im 32 and im  a plant operater,you no the one that sits on my butt all the time looking at computer screens.....i have been doing that for 2 1/2 years....i been in construction befor that..welding,fab work,rigging,Iron worker.pipe,and so on.but i want to be a Commercial diver really bad  more less a under water welder ,,damn that looks so cool...but i hear bad things on how hard it is to get a job and the pay sucks..I don't want a SCHOOL teacher to tell me that it is all good and that i don't have to worry about anything ...lol lmao right ....sure..i live in south carolina and i make about 17 a hour..sitting on my butt..i would like to hear it from the real divers ,how much is the pay for the 1st year..i mean i got bill to.and how much traveling it is.i have a little 6 year old girl,And how hard it is to find a job.ples. tell me befor i try and get a 28k school loan .....BIG step for me ....ty so much..i really want to do this .........but i need to know the facts....ty

Views: 12749

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

It doesn't matter what school you go to, so make it a point to save your money! All the dive companies care about are the certs you walk in the door with, not where you got them from. You got the certs, they hire you as a tender and you get your ass to work. Follow this link: http://www.region3.ltc.edu/index.cfm?md=pagebuilder&tmp=home&am...
This school is located in Morgan City, LA and will save you a crap load of cash!

Also, work is starting to pick up but the industry IS overloaded with both divers and tenders. If you were to go to school, try to start so you would graduate close to June, that would be your best bet for getting hired and possibly getting to work..