HELP........Thinking of going to Commercial diving school....PLE .HELP.........

im thinking of going to CDA school of jacksonville in FL.Im 32 and im  a plant operater,you no the one that sits on my butt all the time looking at computer screens.....i have been doing that for 2 1/2 years....i been in construction befor that..welding,fab work,rigging,Iron worker.pipe,and so on.but i want to be a Commercial diver really bad  more less a under water welder ,,damn that looks so cool...but i hear bad things on how hard it is to get a job and the pay sucks..I don't want a SCHOOL teacher to tell me that it is all good and that i don't have to worry about anything ...lol lmao right ....sure..i live in south carolina and i make about 17 a hour..sitting on my butt..i would like to hear it from the real divers ,how much is the pay for the 1st year..i mean i got bill to.and how much traveling it is.i have a little 6 year old girl,And how hard it is to find a job.ples. tell me befor i try and get a 28k school loan .....BIG step for me ....ty so much..i really want to do this .........but i need to know the facts....ty

Views: 12749

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Getting a loan with the current job market wouldn't be a wise decision. You said you were a dry welder, this can be a jumpstart. If times are slow you can take jobs as a drywelder on barges etc I have a friend, a freelancer, and does the same thing. During winters he welds and when the water gets warmer he starts diving again. good luck
You bet thats the way to go make it hot.
wow nice replys ...im going to talk to a school tues and hit them up with every thing i learned here so ty for all the help and i see that the only way is if i want to dive is just to go do it and dont worry.....