This past week I was sent down to burn stainless flat stock. Im fairly new to diving and i couldnt get the job done. The flat stock runs horizontal and vertical on the width. Its twelve inches tall. vis was about a foot and a half. I had a hell of a time getting the rods to ignite. I had no cutting lens. I couldnt see what the hell I was doing cuz the torch was so fing bright. and after four rods and little progress, I told topside. It was raining like mad and my supervisor was pissed he had to get dressed in to burn the S#%&.
IT WAS ONE HELL OF A DAY

Views: 121

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

avoid looking like a d@#k, if ya unsure ask questions
why didn't you have lenses?
Take it easy, when I was a tender I was taught to prepare for every dive my diver made, in all detail. When I screwed up I got a just deserved bollocking, because he would plan out his dives in detail and thereby catch me before we had committed to a dive plan. I took those lessons and carried them with me throughout my career, I trusted my tenders - but always checked twice-I was at the end of the hose, and thats' just professionalism. cheers. .
Same ol same o, how u?

I was in the same situation as you before as we only had like 10 rods to burn in the school.
A good supervisor will ask you as the diver to practice topside first before you do it underwater and I was lucky enough to be able to do so. And I had a good buddy ( Brett Mackay) who coached me and gave me tips on how to cut thick materials topside. Lesson learned and I am confident enough to do underwater cutting.

P/S- There is always back blast while cutting...no matter how much you vent..:P
Don't worry dude... Nobody masters the Broco on his first time. Not getting your rods ignited can be various reasons. Not enough O2 pressure, anti fouling paint or growth on the steel, not enough amps on the welder, worn out O-rings inside the torch, bad welding cables etc