Hi,
Im a scuba instructor and tech deep diver and it has been some time Ive been looking around at different commercial diving schools, to be specific two in particular: NYD in Norway and UDC at Fort Williams.

Can anyone give me give the rational behind the big difference in price?  Do they offer the same courses?  Any other schools in the world that are good?

Also is worth the while to get a full package as offered at UDC or standard surface supplied with top up adding NDT and welding be a good set of skills for employability?

I was thinking - mainly because of the price - getting my degree at NYD then adding whatever is missing from fort williams but dont know if thats the right angle to go for considering employability.

thanks in advance for any advice

Nick

Views: 194

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Check out the south african school. Pretty cheap and you get the same cert.

Don't let on that you're a scuba diver, it doesn't sit well with us older hands.
When I went to school you had to know how to breath out of a goat skin bladder to get in. Doesn't that qualify for scuba?
Hey Marty! I'm looking for a 18 frame, you got one? I'm at the house.
James, I do not have one. I do know where you can get one cast in bronze. It does improve the comms and balance plus no inserts to come loose.
Nick I would say HSE is still the best ticket for overall recognition. The schools that do the offshore certs are UDC in fortwilliam as you have already checked out, and the PDA in Dunoon. I trained at the PDA and as I've stated elsewhere I couldn't rate the place high enough. I came into the industry with no prior diving experience and they really taught me a great deal in the 9 weeks I was there. When I left I was prepared for what lay in store to a good degree and my first start felt very similar to another day in the academy. Work has been steady since though I've been slack for the last 2 - 3 weeks.