So if you don't have the 2-3 years diving experience one needs for the majority of the jobs out there, how on earth do you get your start??

Rookies need help, The wise old timers advice would be much appreciated!!!

Views: 269

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

HAVE YOU GET WORK IN HOLLAND):-)
I’m struggling to make that big step from Inshore to offshore and believe me it’s a fckn nightmare! I have over 4 years experience in civil construction useless to go offshore, and most frustrating after some time you get the feeling you need someone from inside who will trust you and give your name to the supervisor, because from their point of view you are a complete stranger and they lose a lot of money if the new guy screws up. It’s sad but that’s the way it is.
hi nat, i know wot u mean catch 22 or wot!!! well over here in the UK you start by doing civils inland then if your lucky enough or know someone to get you an 'IN' its normally 2 years b4 ya get offshore. Its not always the case of course.... ya just gotta keep tryin and callin all the companies ya can m8..
hi i am new to this game and i have got my surface supply certs in uk scotland but realy struggling to get any work ! any help would be appreciated ..... i will travel anywhere but just like the subject no one will give me a chance so that i can get experiance ! cheers ! by the way hi dan it greg was on ur top up course in the PDA ! hows it going ?
Hi greg! not too bad thx! bouy maintennace work it's what am doing till I get that bloody phone call, cos the company I left to do the top-up wont take me again.
by the way I'll be in liverpool next month.. would be great to catch up with you.
You just have to keep going, try and stay with the same crew, they will trust you sooner and they'll know your skills and test you...