Hey guys I am going to be taking commercial diving and was wondering what school is better. I was considering CDA in florida (www.commercialdivingacademy.com) or The Underwater Centre in Tasmania Australia (http://www.underwatercentretas.com.au/) money really isnt a huge factor either. I just want to go to the best school. My goals are to eventually be an offshore diver and I do understand it takes time to get to that point. I am a fully certified welder in the Alberta oilsands and am a very hard worker I already work 12 hours a day and do pretty physical work. I also have my advanced scuba diving and have 30 some dives and am comfortable being under water. And yes I know that just because Im already a welder and have my scuba diving certification that doesnt mean I can be an underwater welder I realise theres a big difference. Any tips or advice is much appreciated thanks.

Views: 526

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Real divers train and learn in Black Water, then they migrate to the great blue pool known as the GOM. This ideology has been turned around as of late, however if you can manipulate 48 to 60 bolts washers and rings blind, seal and make patches fast blind, then you can do it anywhere. Learn in black water, from black water divers then go find John Roat in the GOM and have him evaluate you. And listen to what he and othershis age tell you. they havent survived this long by BS ing their way in the field, they have done it or developed it......

Whats up dude,

you may wanna disregard half of Jerrys post, since unless your an american citizen or can legally work in the states the GOM might be a bit of a long shot full time.

For Canadians its the East coast for us and work there is sort of seasonal and all but shuts down some parts of the year, some guys end up going overseas on visas to Africa, Asia or sometimes Australia.

Or work in other jobs such as welding and when the East coast stuff fires up head there for a couple months.