Starting a NON ADCI dive school. Veteran Owned and Operated Looking for input.

Ok Crew, Im at it again. TIme for divers to stand up and stand out! I have been working on this for awhile. The only way we can retake this industry is to re write the standards being taught. I am looking for former NAVY, ARMY, COAST GUARD, and MARINE DIVING Instructors to assist in creating a real world diver training program.

256-312-9503, e-mail jerry.babin@yahoo.com 

No smart ass comments, please no student or rookie comments at this time. Sr. Divers and former instructors ONLY.

Views: 1319

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

First thing Willy told me when I graduated was, congrats, you are now an unemployed diver, if your lucky, 1-3 yrs as a tender. I got lucky and jumped the 1st week in the gulf, lots of offshoot companies started then. Only time I tended was after I was a sat tech/ chamber op and the company I worked for transferred me to another vessel. They wanted me to be a betty tender on that vessel after 4yrs with them diving/ shop foreman and sat teching. Needless to say, I walked, went to mexico, sat on the beach for a week, returned stateside and started my own company for harvesting sea food and in water boat maint. Willy was my mentor in school even if he denies it. You will not hear BS out of his mouth about diving.

start these tadpoles in the blackwater, let em get comfortable working in currents and navigating in dark muddy s***, hell, teach em to walk before you put em in a race. If you build that reputation of putting out the real thing, then you cant loose. Assembly line divers rarely last and are prone to injury or hurting others. And the thing that really sucks is these poor bastards pay a fortune and dont know s***. I believe that practical application is the best teacher, as long as the teacher doesnt take away your interest. If ya make em good they,ll love there job....
Thats the Idea, teach them why we crawl before we walk.